Wise vs Skydo vs Payoneer for receiving international payments in India (2026)

29 October 2026 • 5 min read

In short

  • Answer: For a software exporter paid in dollars, Skydo publishes the simplest price: a flat $19 for a payment up to $2,000, $29 from $2,001 to $10,000 and 0.3% above that, plus 18% GST on the fee. Payoneer prices a bank withdrawal at 1.2% to 4% and gives no India-specific rate, so the cost can only be worked out from your own account. Wise's pages show no fee percentage for receiving at all. On a $5,000 invoice the Skydo fee is about $34 with GST, against $60 to $200 on Payoneer's published range.
  • Read from each company's own pages on 29 October 2026; Skydo's page carries no date.

What each one publishes

SkydoPayoneerWise BusinessChecked
Fee to receive USD$19 up to $2,000; $29 from $2,001 to $10,000; 0.3% above $10,000Free if the receiving account is in local currency; 1% (minimum $1) if it is in another currencyAccount details are free; no receiving percentage on the page29 Oct 2026
Turning dollars into rupees"Live FX, zero margin" (Skydo's wording)Bank withdrawal with conversion 1.2% to 4%; no India rate statedMid-market rate plus "a tiny conversion fee", no percentage stated for receiving29 Oct 2026
GST on the fee18%, shown in its worked exampleNot stated on the fees page18% on Wise fees29 Oct 2026
Proof of export receipt (FIRA or eFIRC)FIRA by email or dashboard; charge not statedNot stated for IndiaeFIRC emailed for every transfer; charge not stated29 Oct 2026
Standing chargeNone stated$29.95 a year, only if you receive under $6,000 in 12 monthsNone stated29 Oct 2026
Who can receiveNot statedNot statedBusiness customers only for receiving29 Oct 2026

"Not stated" means the page did not say, not that the charge is zero.

A $5,000 and a $1,000 invoice

Using only the published figures, before any bank charge on the sender's side:

InvoiceSkydo fee with 18% GSTPayoneer at 1.2%Payoneer at 4%WiseChecked
$5,000$34.22 (0.68%)$60$200No figure published29 Oct 2026
$1,000$22.42 (2.24%)$12$40No figure published29 Oct 2026

Skydo's flat fee gets cheaper as a share of the invoice the bigger the invoice is; on a small invoice a percentage price like Payoneer's low end can win. Payoneer's real rate sits somewhere in 1.2% to 4% and its page does not say where for India, so ask for the rate on your own account before you rely on the low end. Skydo's page does not say whether the 0.3% above $10,000 applies to the whole payment or only the part over $10,000.

What we did not check

  • Wise's fee for receiving and converting dollars into rupees. The page needed a payment method selected to show a rate, so we have none to print.
  • Whether Skydo charges for the FIRA, what the sender's bank takes on the way, and how Skydo makes money on the exchange rate. "Zero margin" is Skydo's own claim.
  • Limits on how much you can receive, and each company's licence status with the RBI.
  • Payoneer's marketplace fees, which its page says vary.
  • We have not used any of the three to receive a payment for this page.

How to choose

  • One or two large invoices a month and you want a fixed, known fee: Skydo's published tiers are the easiest to plan on.
  • Many small payments, or you already hold a Payoneer balance for a marketplace: ask Payoneer for your withdrawal rate; the account fee only applies below $6,000 received in a year.
  • You want a multi-currency business account as well as getting paid: Wise Business is built for that, but ask for the receiving and conversion fee in writing first.
  • Whatever you pick, keep the FIRA or eFIRC for every payment. Your CA and your bank will ask for it when you claim the export treatment on the invoice. See GST on a SaaS subscription for the zero-rate rule on exports.

Related

Questions people ask

Which is cheapest for receiving dollars from a foreign client?

On published prices, Skydo for larger invoices: $29 plus GST for a payment between $2,001 and $10,000. Payoneer's range is 1.2% to 4% on withdrawal and Wise shows no receiving percentage, so those two cannot be ranked from their pages alone. Ask each for a written rate on your volume.

Do I get a proof of receipt for GST?

Skydo says it sends a FIRA by email and from the dashboard, and Wise says it emails an eFIRC for every transfer. Neither page states a charge for it. Payoneer's page does not say. Ask before you rely on one.

Does Payoneer charge an annual fee?

$29.95 a year, but only if the account receives less than $6,000 in any 12 consecutive months. It is not charged in the first year on paid annual plans.

Can an individual receive on Wise Business?

Wise's India page says receiving money is available only for business customers and sends Indian residents to Wise Business. Check the current eligibility on its site, because we did not read the sign-up rules.

Is GST charged on these fees?

Skydo's worked example adds 18% GST to its fee and Wise says it charges 18% GST on its fees. Payoneer's fees page does not say. Ask whether the figure you are quoted includes GST.

Sources

  1. Skydo, home page with its published receiving fees and worked example, read 29 October 2026 (no date on the page): skydo.com
  2. Wise, India page on receiving money, read 29 October 2026: wise.com/in/pricing/receive
  3. Wise Business India, account details and eFIRC, read 29 October 2026: wise.com/in/business/pricing
  4. Payoneer, fees, read 29 October 2026: payoneer.com/legal/fees

Nine stories, every morning at 09:15 IST.

Get the brief free →